Most IELTS confusion is one mistake repeated. People treat IELTS as a single thing, and it is five separate choices stacked on top of each other.
Which paper you sit. Which version of the test your route needs. Which way you sit it. What the band on your certificate actually measures. And who decides whether that band is enough. Get any one of them wrong and the other four stop mattering.
The five are separated below, each with the page that answers it in full. Every number and every quotation comes from the test’s own owners rather than from a preparation site, because on delivery mode in particular the preparation sites and the owners currently disagree.
IELTS Is Owned By Three Organisations And None Of Them Sets The Score You Need
Every official IELTS page carries the same ownership line in its footer, and it is worth reading once: “IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council; IDP IELTS; and Cambridge University Press & Assessment”.
Three owners, one test. They write the papers, run the centres, train the examiners and report the bands. What they do not do is tell you what band you need.
| Who | What they decide | What they do not decide |
|---|---|---|
| The three IELTS owners | The test content, the band scale, the delivery modes and how results are reported | The band any university, regulator or visa route requires |
| The organisation reading your result | The band you need, the per-skill minimums, and how long they will accept an old result | Anything about the test itself |
That split is the first thing to internalise, because it explains why the owners cannot answer the most-asked question in the category. Their own recognition directory puts it as finding out “if the place you want to go has specific score requirements”. The requirement belongs to the destination.
It also explains a pattern worth distrusting. Any page that states a required IELTS band without naming the organisation that set it is reporting a rumour, however confident the table looks. The same division runs through the other test we teach, where the regulator sets the grade and the test owner does not.
Academic And General Training Share Two Sections And Differ On The Other Two
Four test types sit under the IELTS name, and for most candidates the first fork is between two of them. The owners split the four sections unevenly: Listening and Speaking are one test across both papers, while Reading and Writing are written for different sectors.
| What differs | IELTS Academic | IELTS General Training |
|---|---|---|
| Who the owners point at it | Degree-level study, and professional registration | Migration, and study below degree level |
| Listening and Speaking | The same test | The same test |
| Reading and Writing | Written for an academic sector | Written for social and workplace settings |
| Where it can be sat | A test centre, or remotely online | A test centre |
Two rows there surprise people. Professional registration sits on the Academic side, which is where doctors and nurses are sent even though they are migrating for work rather than studying. And the remote option is not available on both papers, which is rarely stated outside the owners’ own pages.
Both of those are booking decisions rather than definitions, so they belong on their own page. Which paper your destination actually requires works through the owners’ one-sentence use cases, where the degree-level boundary falls, the bookings candidates most often get wrong, and what the transfer policy does and does not cover.
The Academic page also gives the total test time as “2 hours and 45 minutes” and adds that “the format is the same wherever it is taken”. The General Training page publishes no total at all, only its section timings, and its Listening entry adds ten minutes that the Academic one does not. Whether 2 hours and 45 minutes covers both papers is therefore not a question the owners answer, and our section by section breakdown of the exam pattern sets out every published figure and every place they disagree.
IELTS For UKVI And Life Skills Are Different Products
A doctor applying to the United Kingdom and a student applying to the United Kingdom may need different IELTS products. The owners group them under one heading and they are not interchangeable.
IELTS for UKVI is described as “a secure English language test (SELT)”. The papers are the IELTS papers. What changes is the administration, and the governing condition is absolute: the test counts only when sat in person at an official IELTS for UKVI centre. Our dedicated page on IELTS for UKVI carries that rule in the owners’ own words, the full route-by-route table, the Home Office identity and refund rules, and the test centre position in Tamil Nadu.
Alongside it sit three separate tests that are not the four-skill IELTS at all: IELTS for UKVI Life Skills A1, A2 and B1. Each assesses Listening and Speaking only, and the owners describe the outcome as achieving “a Pass” rather than quoting a band for them.
What The UK Actually Asks For, And It Is Not A Band
Here is the part that catches applicants. The UK government sets its requirement as a Common European Framework of Reference level, and the IELTS band is only the way you prove it. The owners publish the mapping, and our page about who sets the score you need carries it route by route, including the two routes where what you need is a pass rather than a band.
| Which level your route asks for | Which test you book | What it reports |
|---|---|---|
| A1, A2, or B1 in two skills | IELTS for UKVI Life Skills, at the matching level | A pass. No band score is issued |
| B1, B2 or C1 in four skills | IELTS for UKVI | Four section bands, each of which has to clear a stated minimum |
Read the middle column as written. The owners state that “the UK government requires you to achieve the scores above in every component of your test”. There is no overall band in this requirement and no averaging. A 7.0 overall with a 6.5 in writing does not meet a C1 requirement.
Which CEFR level applies to you depends on the visa, and that is a question for the visa guidance rather than for a test provider. Where a UK professional regulator is involved as well as a visa route, the two set their numbers separately, which the English evidence routes for nurses show in practice.
The Owners List Three Ways To Sit IELTS, And Acceptance Differs By Mode
Delivery mode used to be a convenience question. It is now partly an acceptance question, because one of the three modes is disclosed on the certificate and one is barred from the UKVI test. The owners set the three out on their ways-to-take page, under two headings rather than three: two of them sit beneath “IELTS in a test centre” and the third stands alone.
One word of warning before the table, because it sends people wrong. That page is titled for “online, computer or paper” and carries no paper-based sitting of its own. Paper appears only as a Writing option inside a computer sitting. If you came looking for IELTS on paper as a third way to sit the test, the owners’ own page is where that expectation ends.
| Way of sitting it | Which test types | Where | Results | What the certificate says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS on computer | Not specified on the page we read | Test centre | 1 to 5 days | Nothing about the mode |
| IELTS on computer (Writing on Paper) | Academic and General Training. Not available for IELTS for UKVI | Test centre, selected countries | Within 5 days | Does not specify the option was chosen |
| IELTS Online | Academic only | Home or a suitable private location | 6 to 8 days | Indicates the test was completed online |
Two things about that table before the detail. The owners’ ways-to-take page lists these three and does not describe a separate paper-based sitting, so neither does this guide. And the last column is not a formality: it is the difference between a result that travels and a result that invites a question.
The last row is the one to slow down on. The owners say “educational institutions may choose to accept results from IELTS Academic tests that have been taken online”. May choose. An online result is not a universally accepted result, and the same passage makes the visa position absolute: “all tests that are taken to secure a visa for UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) must be taken at an official IELTS test centre”.
IELTS Online is narrower than most candidates assume, though the owners say it is growing: it is offered “in some countries” and they add “we are adding countries all the time”. It is “available for the IELTS Academic test only”, and the paper itself is unchanged, with “the same format, questions, timing, and marking criteria” as a centre sitting. Speaking runs “in an online video call with a trained IELTS examiner” rather than face to face.
The test is the same. What differs is who will read it, and the owners are explicit on both halves of that: “receiving organisations can decide whether they are happy to accept results from IELTS Academic tests that are taken online or not”, and “the Test Report Form will indicate if you have completed your test online”. So the mode is disclosed and the acceptance is discretionary. Check with your destination before you book, not after.
Writing On Paper Is An Option Inside The Computer Test, Not The Old Paper Test
This is the row most published advice still gets wrong, so it is worth one line here and a page of its own. Writing on Paper is not a return to the paper exam. Only the Writing component is handwritten, the tasks still appear on screen, and the owners’ own comparison of the two modes differs in exactly one cell.
Everything that follows from that sits on its own page, because it is a booking decision rather than a definition: what the owners’ mode table actually shows, the availability condition, the UK visa exclusion, what their field trial found about scores, and the fact that no paper-based test appears on the India booking form at all. Computer IELTS against Writing on Paper works through it, and how our classes are run explains why we rehearse in whichever mode a candidate has booked.
• The short version, if you are booking this week. A paper-based IELTS is not on the India test type selector. The choice in front of you is whether the Writing hour is typed or handwritten, and nothing larger than that.
Your Certificate Carries Five Numbers And Nobody Awarded The Fifth
Scores run from 0 to 9 and are “reported in whole and half bands”. Your certificate carries five numbers: one for each of the four sections, and one overall.
The overall number is not a total and not a weighting. The owners state the rule on their scoring page: “The overall band score is the average of the four section band scores rounded to the nearest half band.” Two averages land exactly between two half bands, and the owners resolve both upward.
That is the whole mechanism, and the detail belongs on its own page rather than here: the ten band descriptors, the owners’ three worked examples, the two edge cases and what they cost a candidate who gets them backwards are all covered on our IELTS band score page.
One consequence does belong here, because it changes what you book rather than how you read a result. Most requirements name a figure for the whole certificate and a floor for each section, and averaging only helps with the first. Clearing the headline number while missing a single section is the commonest way an application fails.
A Raw Mark Out Of 40 Does Not Fix Your Band
Listening and Reading are counted rather than judged. Each contains 40 questions, each correct answer earns one mark, and the mark out of 40 is converted to the nine-band scale.
So the obvious question is how many marks a band 7 needs, and the obvious answer circulates as a fixed table on dozens of sites. The owners publish twelve average figures, four bands each for Listening, Academic Reading and General Training Reading rather than all nine bands, and attach a caveat that the precise number varies between test versions. They also state that General Training Reading usually needs more correct answers than Academic Reading for the same band, which reverses what candidates are normally told. All twelve figures, the caveat and that statement are reproduced on our band score guide.
Writing and Speaking have no mark to convert at all. They are assessed against criteria, which is why Writing Task 2 takes a different kind of preparation entirely.
Two Years Is A Recommendation From The Owners, Not An Expiry Date
Ask how long an IELTS result lasts and you will be told two years, flatly, almost everywhere. The owners recommend two years, give a stated reason for it, and add that organisations accepting IELTS may choose to accept results for longer.
Nothing therefore stops working on the anniversary of your test, and a certificate you had given up on may still be worth submitting. Some destinations allow less than two years, so the advice sits between two limits rather than setting either. Only the organisation reading the result can settle it, and we will go through their published wording with you if you would rather not ask them cold. Our page on how the band is calculated carries the exact sentence and what it does and does not promise.
One Skill Retake Replaces One Section Without Re-Sitting The Other Three
If one section is holding back an otherwise usable result, the owners offer a product many candidates overlook. IELTS One Skill Retake lets you re-sit a single component instead of all four.
Two features make it worth understanding properly. Your earlier certificate survives, because the owners issue a second one and let you pick between them. And the deadline is tighter than it looks, since it is measured from the test rather than from the result.
Eligibility is partly decided before you ever sit the test, by your centre and by whether you book a computer sitting. Acceptance is decided by nobody at IELTS at all, and the owners say to ask your destination first.
That is the shape of it. How One Skill Retake actually works carries the conditions in full, the deadline worked day by day, what the second certificate contains, the calculation that shows when a retake can and cannot lift an overall band, and the regulators that refuse it outright. How our Chennai and online batches are structured covers what a single-skill programme looks like against a full one.
The Band You Need Is Set By The Organisation Reading It
What IELTS measures is settled. What you need is not, and neither the owners nor any page that declines to name its source can tell you.
What the owners do provide is a searchable directory of recognising organisations covering, in their words, “thousands of employers, professional associations, governments, and educational institutions across the globe”. Find your destination in it and read the requirement the destination publishes.
Three patterns are worth carrying into that search.
• A requirement usually has two parts, an overall band and a per-skill minimum, and the per-skill minimum is the one that blocks people.
• A requirement is set per route, not per country. A student visa, a skilled migration route and a professional registration in the same country routinely ask for different numbers. The United Kingdom states its requirement as a CEFR level, while Canada states its own as a Canadian Language Benchmark, and neither reads an overall band.
• A requirement can specify the version as well as the score, which is what the UKVI section above is about. The right band on the wrong version is a failed application.
If you are comparing tests rather than destinations, the choice is also set by acceptance rather than by difficulty. How PTE scores convert to IELTS bands and whether CELPIP is easier for a Canadian application both come down to which test your destination reads. If the answer is IELTS, our Chennai and Pondicherry batches start from the destination’s published requirement.
Doctors And Nurses Have A Second Instrument, And It Is Not IELTS
Healthcare candidates are the one audience for whom IELTS is not the default. Many of the regulators that read IELTS also read the Occupational English Test, which is written profession by profession rather than as one general paper.
That matters because the two instruments measure through different material. What OET is sets out the difference, and the comparison for healthcare professionals works through which one suits which regulator. Which professions OET covers is the quickest way to tell whether the option is even open to you.
One warning specific to this group, and it follows from the ownership point above. A nurse or doctor sitting IELTS for registration sits Academic, not General Training, because the owners name professional registration alongside degree-level study as the Academic use case. Booking General Training for a registration application is an expensive and common error.
Where a regulator publishes per-skill minimums rather than an overall band, the per-skill numbers are the requirement. The English evidence routes for nurses applying to the United Kingdom show what that looks like in practice, and the OET route for nurses covers the alternative.
Five Decisions, In The Order A Booking Actually Forces Them
Everything above collapses into one sequence. The order matters, because each answer narrows the next.
| Order | The decision | What settles it |
|---|---|---|
| First | Who is reading your result | Your destination. Find it in the owners’ recognition directory and read the band, the per-skill minimums and the validity window it publishes |
| Second | Which version you book | The route. Study or professional registration takes Academic, migration or sub-degree study takes General Training, and a UK visa route takes IELTS for UKVI or a Life Skills test |
| Third | How you sit it | Acceptance before convenience. A centre sitting on computer carries no mode note on the certificate; an online Academic sitting is marked as online and accepted at the receiving organisation’s discretion, and never for a UK visa. Writing on Paper is closed to UKVI candidates |
| Fourth | What band you are preparing for | The destination’s number, not an overall band you have averaged yourself, and with a margin because raw-mark conversion moves between versions |
| Fifth | What you do if one section misses | One Skill Retake if your destination accepts it, a full resit if not |
Two of those five are commonly answered last and should be answered first. Candidates book a test type before checking the requirement, then discover the requirement names a different version. And candidates choose a delivery mode on convenience, then discover their institution treats an online result as discretionary.
The fourth decision is where preparation starts, and it is the one worth a second opinion. Our IELTS coaching in Chennai sets a target from the destination’s published requirement rather than from a round number, because the gap between a 6.5 and a 7.0 is a different programme from the gap between a 7.0 and a 7.0 with no component below 7.0.
Send us the four numbers on your Test Report Form and the name of your destination and we will tell you which of the five decisions is actually blocking you. Some candidates arranging a full resit need one section. Some with a qualifying overall band have already failed on a component they have not looked at.
What T est Takers Ask About IELTS
What is IELTS?
IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, a four-section test of Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking reported on a nine-band scale. It is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP IELTS and Cambridge University Press and Assessment. The owners set the test and the scale. They do not set the band any university, regulator or visa route requires, which is decided by the organisation reading your result.
What is the difference between IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training?
The Listening and Speaking papers are identical in both. The Reading and Writing papers are different. Academic is for undergraduate or postgraduate study, or for professional registration, with the owners naming doctors and nurses. General Training is for migration to an English-speaking country or for training and study below degree level. There is also a delivery difference: the owners describe Academic as available at a test centre or remotely online, and General Training only at a test centre.
How long is an IELTS score valid?
Two years is what the owners advise, not a date on which anything stops working, and they say receiving organisations may accept older results if they choose to. Some destinations are stricter and allow less. Because the window belongs to whoever reads the certificate, an older result is worth one email before you spend money on sitting again.
Is IELTS Online accepted everywhere?
No. The owners state that educational institutions may choose to accept results from IELTS Academic tests taken online, and separately that receiving organisations can decide whether they are happy to accept such results. That is conditional acceptance rather than a guarantee, and the mode is visible: the owners say the Test Report Form will indicate if you have completed your test online. IELTS Online is offered in some countries only, is available for the IELTS Academic test only, and results are available 6 to 8 days after the test. For UK visa purposes the position is absolute: all tests taken to secure a visa for UK Visas and Immigration must be taken at an official IELTS test centre.
Is the paper IELTS test coming back?
Writing on Paper is not a return to the paper-based test. It is an option inside IELTS on computer: your Writing tasks appear on screen and you complete them in pen on an IELTS Writing Answer Sheet. The owners describe it as available in selected countries for the Academic and General Training tests, and state that it is not available for test takers taking an IELTS for UKVI test. A November 2025 field trial compared it against the paper-based test it replaces and found scores remain effectively the same across both, and the Test Report Form will not specify that the option was chosen.
What is IELTS for UKVI and do I need it?
IELTS for UKVI is a secure English language test, or SELT. The papers are the same as standard IELTS, but it counts only when sat in person at an official IELTS for UKVI centre, and whether you need it depends on your visa route. Separately, IELTS for UKVI Life Skills A1, A2 and B1 are different tests assessing Listening and Speaking only, with the outcome described as a Pass.
What IELTS score does the UK require?
The UK does not set a band at all. It sets a CEFR level, and the IELTS band is only the proof. For A1, A2 and B1 in two skills, a pass in the matching IELTS for UKVI Life Skills test satisfies it and no band score is issued. For B1, B2 and C1 in four skills you need an IELTS for UKVI test with a stated minimum in every component, and the owners are explicit that the UK government requires those scores in every component, so there is no averaging and no overall band in the requirement. The route-by-route mapping, including which routes need only a pass, is on our page about who sets the score you need.
Can I retake just one part of IELTS?
Yes, through IELTS One Skill Retake, which lets you re-sit a single component and receive a new Test Report Form. Five conditions apply. Your original sitting must have been an IELTS on computer test at a centre that offers the retake, and the owners tell candidates to confirm that before booking the full test. You can only retake once per original test. You must sit it within 60 days of your original test, counted from the original test day. If your original sitting used Writing on Paper, the retake must use the same delivery mode. And acceptance is decided by the organisation reading your result, so that has to be checked separately.
Should a nurse or doctor sit IELTS Academic or General Training?
Academic. The owners name professional registration alongside undergraduate and postgraduate study as the reason to choose Academic. Booking General Training for a registration application is a common and expensive error. Healthcare candidates should also check whether their regulator accepts the Occupational English Test, which is written profession by profession, because many regulators read both.
Who decides what IELTS score I need?
The organisation reading your result. The three IELTS owners decide the test content, the band scale, the delivery modes and how results are reported, and nothing else. Universities, professional regulators, employers and governments each set their own required band, their own per-skill minimums and their own validity window. Any page that states a required band without naming the organisation that set it is reporting a rumour.

